Adeli’s Music Blog

Michael Jackson, King of Pop (1959-2009)

Posted in music by adeli on June 25, 2009

For those who grew up in the 80s, it was his music that got us up to dance and kept us dancing at every party. It was his videos that kept us up late on Friday nights to watch Friday Night Videos. Almost everyone I grew up with attended a “Thriller” video premiere party. For my 15th birthday in May of 1983, I received two Thriller albums (yes, vinyl) as gifts. I already had the album, of course, so I returned one to the store and re-gifted the other.

What are your Michael Jackson memories? Let me know by commenting on here.

It’s understandable to be shocked and saddened but let’s remember and celebrate the music that added so much to our lives. Thanks for the boogie, Michael!

Everybody say, “Ma Ma Se, Ma Ma Sa, Ma Ma Coo Sa!”
Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’

With The Jacksons:

ABC

The Love You Save

I Want You Back

Blame It On The Boogie

With Janet:

Scream

Solo:

Dirty Diana

Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough

Rock With You

Off The Wall

Thriller

Beat It

Billie Jean

Smooth Criminal

Bad

The Way You Make Me Feel

Man In The Mirror

You Are Not Alone

Black Or White

They Don’t Care About Us

Blood on the Dance Floor

Jam

You Rock My World

Liberian Girl

Remember The Time

Stranger in Moscow

Leave Me Alone

Give In To Me

Who Is It

Cry

Heal The World

Earth Song

Wanna Be Startin’ Something 2008 – Michael Jackson and Akon

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jennifer said, on June 26, 2009 at 10:34 am

    Wonderful to see your tribute to Michael! Yes Thriller is what stands out most in my memory as the music I remember the most fondly. I was 6 years old in 1983 and Thriller was one of the first albums that made me fall in love with music and dance. It was just great and the music still is now!

  2. Norma said, on June 26, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Memories of Michael for me, definately your 15s party!!!!

  3. caroline said, on June 29, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Great tribute — thanks for the great links!


Leave a comment