Adeli’s Music Blog

Songs From The Big Chair

Posted in music by adeli on July 30, 2008

On this day in 1985, the No. 1 Billboard Pop Hit was “Shout’‘ by Tears for Fears.

The song was the second straight No. 1 from Songs from the Big Chair, the duo’s most successful album. The album ran only a little over 40 minutes, and garnered four hits.

Below, the tracks as they appeared in the original recording. Click on the song names to watch a video or performance of the song.

1. Shout
2. The Working Hour
3. Everybody Wants to Rule the World
4. Mothers Talk
5. I Believe
6. Broken
7. Head over Heels/Broken (Live)
8. Listen

The next tune was not on this album, but it’s one of my favorites from the duo’s later hits:

Halfway, Pleased CD Review

Posted in music by adeli on May 27, 2008

As an avid Tears For Fears fan, I was pleased to hear that Curt Smith had another solo album in the works. As a matter a fact, Smith had been working on his new album Halfway, Pleased, when it was put on hold for 2004’s Tears For Fears reunion album Everybody Loves A Happy Ending and its accompanying tour. Smith gave us the memorable vocals on Tears’ Everybody Wants To Rule The World, Mad World, Pale Shelter, Change, and Advice For The Young At Heart. And on this new album, Curt shows off that stellar voice once again, along with his songwriting skills.

Smith’s lush voice is unmistakable, and it especially shines on Seven of Sundays, Halfway Pleased, and Snow Hill. Other standout songs include Coming Out, Aeroplane, Cover Us, and Perfect Day. Smith does a new version of Who You Are, a song from Tears’ last album. Also, acoustic versions of Seven of Sundays and Coming Out, a live version of Snow Hill, and a French duet version of Seven Sundays with an artist named SO are included here.

Halfway, Pleased is an outstanding display of styles. This isn’t like a Tears For Fears album, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing. Halfway, Pleased is a quiet album, perfect for reflection and relaxation.

Seven of Sundays


Calling Out